Newbery Medal recipients 2013

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Year     Author           Book

2014    Kate DiCamiilo                  Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
2013    Katherine Applegate          The One and Only Ivan
2012    Jack Gantos                       Dead End in Norvelt
2011    Claire Vanderpool             Moon Over Manifest
2010     Rebecca Stead                When You Reach Me
2009     Neil Gaiman                      The Graveyard Book
2008     Laura Amy Schlitz             Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village 
2007     Susan Patron                     The Higher Power of Lucky
2006     Lynne Rae Perkins            Criss Cross Search our catalog
2005     Cynthia Kadohata             Kira-Kira
2004     Kate DiCamillo                 The Tale of Despereaux
2003     Avi                                   Crispin: The Cross of Lead
2002     Linda Sue Park                 A Single Shard
2001     Richard Peck                    A Year Down Yonder
2000     Christopher Paul Curtis     Bud, Not Buddy
1999     Louis Sachar                     Holes
1998     Karen Hesse                     Out of the Dust
1997     E. L. Konigsburg               The View from Saturday
1996     Karen Cushman                 The Midwife's Apprentice
1995     Sharon Creech                  Walk Two Moons
1994     Lois Lowry                       The Giver
1993     Cynthia Rylant                  Missing May
1992     Phyllis Reynolds Naylor    Shiloh
1991     Jerry Spinelli                     Maniac Magee
1990     Lois Lowry                       Number the Stars
1989     Paul Fleischman                Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices
1988     Russell Freedman              Lincoln: A Photobiography
1987     Sid Fleischman                  The Whipping Boy
1986     Patricia MacLachlan          Sarah, Plain and Tall
1985     Robin McKinley                The Hero and the Crown
1984     Beverly Cleary                   Dear Mr. Henshaw
1983     Cynthia Voigt                     Dicey's Song
1982     Nancy Willard                    A Visit to William Blake's Inn
1981     Katherine Paterson             Jacob Have I Loved
1980     Joan Blos                           A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal
1979     Ellen Raskin                       The Westing Game Search our catalog
1978     Katherine Paterson             Bridge to Terabithia
1977     Mildred Taylor                   Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
1976     Susan Cooper                    The Grey King
1975     Virginia Hamilton                M. C. Higgins, the Great
1974     Paula Fox                           The Slave Dancer
1973     Jean Craighead George       Julie of the Wolves
1972     Robert C. O'Brien              Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH
1971     Betsy Byars                        Summer of the Swans
1970     William H. Armstrong         Sounder
1969     Lloyd Alexander                 The High King
1968     E. L. Konigsburg                From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
1967     Irene Hunt                          Up a Road Slowly
1966     Elizabeth Borton de Treviño I, Juan de Pareja
1965     Maia Wojciechowska         Shadow of a Bull
1964     Emily Cheney Neville          It's Like This, Cat
1963     Madeleine L'Engle              A Wrinkle in Time Search our catalog
1962     Elizabeth George Speare     The Bronze Bow
1961     Scott O'Dell                        Island of the Blue Dolphins
1960     Joseph Krumgold               Onion John
1959     Elizabeth George Speare     The Witch of Blackbird Pond
1958     Harold Keith                       Rifles for Watie
1957     Virginia Sorenson                Miracles on Maple Hill
1956     Jean Lee Latham                 Carry On, Mr. Bowditch
1955     Meindert DeJong                 The Wheel on the School
1954     Joseph Krumgold                 ...And Now Miguel
1953     Ann Nolan Clark                 Secret of the Andes
1952     Eleanor Estes                      Ginger Pye
1951     Elizabeth Yates Amos         Fortune, Free Man
1950     Marguerite de Angeli          The Door in the Wall
1949     Marguerite Henry               King of the Wind Search our catalog
1948     William Pène du Bois         The Twenty-One Balloons
1947     Carolyn Sherwin Bailey      Miss Hickory
1946     Lois Lenski                        Strawberry Girl
1945     Robert Lawson                  Rabbit Hill
1944     Esther Forbes                    Johnny Tremain
1943     Elizabeth Gray Vining         Adam of the Road
1942     Walter D. Edmonds           The Matchlock Gun
1941     Armstrong Sperry              Call It Courage
1940     James Daugherty                Daniel Boone
1939     Elizabeth Enright                Thimble Summer
1938     Kate Seredy                      The White Stag
1937     Ruth Sawyer                      Roller Skates
1936     Carol Ryrie Brink              Caddie Woodlawn
1935     Monica Shannon                Dobry
1934     Cornelia Meigs                  Invincible Louisa
1933     Elizabeth Foreman Lewis   Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze
1932     Laura Adams Armer          Waterless Mountain
1931     Elizabeth Coatsworth         The Cat Who Went to Heaven
1930     Rachel Field                       Hitty, Her First Hundred Years Search our catalog
1929     Eric P. Kelly                       The Trumpeter of Krakow
1928     Dhan Gopal Mukerji          Gay Neck, the Story of a Pigeon
1927     Will James                          Smoky the Cow Horse
1926     Arthur Bowie Chrisman       Shen of the Sea
1925     Charles Finger                     Tales from Silver Lands
1924     Charles Hawes                    The Dark Frigate
1923     Hugh Lofting                       The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle
1922     Hendrik Willem van Loon    The Story of Mankind


Search our Catalog
(See if we have a book you want)



Updated 01/30/2014
Main Library: 1210 Hamilton St., Allentown, PA 18102

Phone 610.820.2400 x.4